Announcing 2020 New Journal of Physics Early Career Award winner

The Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG) and Institute of Physics (IOP) have announced the winner of the New Journal of Physics’ Early Career Award.

The award was established to recognise exceptional early-career researchers from across the world who have significantly contributed to the journal.

The winner of the 2020 award is Dr Martí Perarnau Llobet, from the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany, and University of Geneva, Switzerland for “seminal and pioneering contributions in the field of quantum thermodynamics, significantly improving our understanding of how fundamental thermodynamic processes behave in the quantum regime.” He will receive €3,000, one full article publication charge (APC) waiver, and two 50 per cent APC waivers.

Dr Perarnau Llobet said: “I am very honoured and grateful to receive the NJP Early Career Award. It represents a great recognition of my research, and a huge encouragement to continue investigating physics.”

The 2020 runner-up is Dr Feihu Xu, from the University of Science and Technology China, for “important contributions to experimental quantum communication, including the original demonstrations of quantum hacking in quantum cryptography, quantum communication complexity protocols, all-photonic quantum repeater and secure time transfer.” He will receive a full APC waiver.

Dr Feihu said, “It is a great honour to be awarded. In fact, my first paper was published in NJP, which demonstrated one of the world’s first quantum hacking in quantum cryptography. This paper started my research career. The recognition of this award is certainly encouraging for my future career, towards the goal to realize a global quantum network for general applications.”

The DPG and IOP give thanks for the large number of nominations received – the calibre of nominees was extremely high. The winner and runner-up were decided by a panel of seven members of the NJP Editorial Board, chaired by the Editor-in-Chief, Barry C Sanders.

More details about the Early Career Awards are available on its dedicated webpage.

/Public Release. View in full here.